top of page
Search
  • taylorsadie971

AD5808: Conetextualising statement

This is a black and white landscape photography project based on the effects that the man-made elements humans have created have on the natural world and the landscapes, with my main focus being on housing. For this project I have focused on looking at one location throughout the whole project with this being Leckhampton Hill in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire. I chose this location due to their being a large amount of human impact in the area, including, quarry’s, a number of local footpaths and hosing built around the area and up the hill. I have chosen to focus on what has been built, looking at the housing of the locals in the area, whether this be the new houses being built or the older much bigger houses that have been built on to the hill, I have also looked at the gardens being part of the man-made impacts due to them being artificial nature and then began looking at the footpaths and the gates that have been built along them. These all then show the human impact because a person would have had to build all of these at one point. I have then further shown the impacts of human by including nature in all of my photos, creating a sense of nature versus man made and creating a conflict between both of these elements which is what I was aiming to get across in my work. This then shows how the landscape has then been adapted by humans and changed because none of the buildings are natural or meant to be there. To conclude the project, I have then chosen a set of photos that I feel best represent the message that I am wanting to get across in my project and show the impacts that humans can have on the landscape.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page