top of page
Search
  • taylorsadie971

AD5808: Evaluation

Updated: May 12, 2022

Overall, I am happy with the outcome of this project. I Have struggled slightly with getting started with the project where at first, I didn’t have a solid idea and hadn’t ever done too much landscape photography work. As I went out and walked around the chosen location for my photo project, I began to find it easier to develop my idea in to the project being on the what impact all of the man-made stuff in the area has on the natural location. I decided to stick to just one area for this project because it then also crosses over with ideas of my previous ideas where I am looking into ideas oof how humans have engaged with this hill. The main ideas being, footpaths, living in houses and the gardens. Despite being happy with the out come of this project i would have still liked to go on more photoshoots and in any upcoming projects will plan to make a timetable of when i will go out and take photos and i will also set a goal of the amount of photoshoots i plan to get.

I have decided to go with this photo as one of my photos for the project because it shows a lot of nature and a different way of looking at the man-made elements where they have become part of the nature as it doesn't feel too destructive towards the landscape.This photo will fit in with the rest of the photos as i have made sure to not just focus on houses within the nature. This photo shows the human impact through the use of the gate and the fact that there is a path way. This is then therefore obstructing the natural growth of the nature.

This is another one of my photos that i have picked to go in to my final 8 photos. This is another photo where the man made element of the photo looks like it's a part of the nature. This is because it is a singular house with in all of the trees. This photo looks similar to one of the photos taken by a photographer that i researched, which is one of reasons why i have put it in to the final 8. This photo shows the human impact because of the house that has been built.

I chose this photo because it is a different angle looking at the man made elements to the other photos. what i liked about this photo is the focus on the new house that is being built and the scaffolding around, showing the impact that we as humans have on nature. This Photo shows the human impact because of the obstruction of the house within the nature and the added affect of the scaffolding.

This is another photo where i have used a similar technique to other photographers, however i have taken the photos from the top of a mountain looking down at this house. This has been effective towards my project because i have continued to show different ways of looking at what i have been looking at. This is another house which looks like it is a part of the nature. However, you can still see the human impact due to it being visible that this is a place where more fields would have been.

This is one of the photos where i have focused on more than just the houses and have looked at the garden being within the nature. This shows the development of my idea moving from just looking at houses. This photo shows have looked at the garden which feels as though it is "artificial nature" due to it still have been built and has replaced the nature.

This is one of my favourite photos from my project, this is because you can see the town of Cheltenham behind and it feels as though the hut that is in the centre of the photo is a more peaceful area compared to what is in the background. The human impact can be seen through the nature being in the foreground and the large impact of the man made buildings in the background. This is effective to the project because i am giving a different point of view in all of the photos to help keep the photos in the project different and interesting.

This next photo has a slightly similar look to the photo before but however there is purely the nature in the foreground of the photo with then the man made buildings from the town of Cheltenham can be seen in the background, along with more nature because of the hills. This photo shows the elements of the human impact due to the large amount of the buildings that can be seen showing a large scale of land that would have been effected due to all of these buildings having to be built at some point.

This photo is my last choice for the final 8 photos and is another one of my favourite photos in the project. This is because of the newly built houses in the centre of the photo all looking like copies of each other, making them feel more dominant than anything else in the photo. This photo shows elements of human impact through the nature that can be seen in both the foreground and background, where it feels vast but also not as powerful as the houses.


I have given this project a name of "Life By The Hill", this is because i am looking in to how we as humans use the hill for our own lives, whether it be for daily use to live on just a visit. Both of these however have then therefore had an impact on the nature.


Across all of my photos i have ensured to use the photographers techniques that i have researched. This has helped me to explore more ways to get across the message that i want and to keep the interest of the viewer and therefore develop my idea in to a full project. I have made sure to show elements of both nature and the man made across all of my photos to ensure that i have kept the focus of the human impact the main parts of the photos. Overall, i am happy with my work that i have produced and will continue to experiment with landscape photography as a style of photography.


I

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page