top of page
Search
  • taylorsadie971

AD5807: Exhibition evaluation

I have produced a selection of 6 images and then cut this down to 4 final prints ahead of the exhibition. I selected my photos based of what I though represented the book created earlier on, “When Saturday Comes”. The photos that I will be exhibiting all have a similar aesthetic. I have ensured that they are relevant to ideas surrounding match day, hopefully meaning that I will have a successful set of images that I have produced for the exhibition where I want to show the match day and the people who will be at football matches. I also want be showing the energy you get from the supporters while waiting to go in to watch a football match.


Due to a high amount of photos being in my book I wasn’t going to be able to pick all of the photos to go in to my project. Meaning that I had to keep cutting down photos and having discussions and feedback on my work and what photos would be the strongest in showing the ideas of my project. I have then had to choose my selection of photos to ensure that they bought the whole of my project together. These photos included the cover photo of the photo book, because I feel that this is a “staple photo” in my book as it is the image that has been used to introduce my photo project. The other images that I have selected are ones that I feel are strong, agreed and discussed with other people to eventually cut the photos down from what was in the photo book. These images draw the series together as they show what a match day is like for football fans of different teams before the match has begun. I have ensured to show different “points off view” of this by having photos of the actual football fans and the security outside of the stadium. This will be effective in the exhibition as I don’t think that the project as a whole seems as though it is based on football fans, and therefore will potentially be able to reach a larger audience of whom may not be interested in football.



I chose for my prints to be A4 with a border. This is because I wanted to keep the sizes of the images the same as what they are in my book but however, I wanted them to all have consistency still so I made sure that they have the same canvas size. This will mean that when I hang the 4 photos chosen for the exhibition they can be. I plan to frame the photos which is something haven’t done before so will be a new skill to learn prior to any future exhibitions I may take on and do. This will help me to develop as photographer and will therefore help the football fans project, “When Saturday Comes” to develop more as project as I will be able to look at the photos physically rather than just virtually on the online book made.


Historical and contemporary exhibitions research has helped to support my own ideas for the exhibition because I have looked in to different exhibitions that people may participate in, whether they be a solo exhibition or a group exhibition. I have also looked at different styles photographers and artists may go with when producing their own work. Going with framing rather than just hanging the prints is more effective for the work that I have produced because I want to keep the simplistic look and the focus on the people in the photos than what the set up is for the photos.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page