top of page
Search
  • taylorsadie971

AD5808: Tom Wood

Tom Wood: Landscapes

Tom Wood is a photographer known for taking photos of people. In one of his photo projects he creates a landscape project based on the West of Ireland, County Mayo, where Tom Wood shows the landscapes of his birthplace and childhood. Choosing to shoot most of the project through a window of a car. This is a project taken over several year when Wood has returned to visit the place. All of his photos across the project" seem to always have a trace of human existence". This is similar to my idea as i am continuously including ways of showing human existence through showing man-made buildings.


These 2 photos above are taken from Tom Woods Landscape project. I think that these photos are relevant to my own project photos style because he has used a hill and the surrounding landscapes of it. Other similarities between these two photos and my own photos include the road as this is similar to one of my earlier photos featured in the project. I will be using this photo as one of my last 8 photos in the overall photo project. The other photo with all the people sat on the hill is also similar to my photos where i am looking down at the

landscape of Cheltenham in my most recent photoshoot. You can also see similar ideas of this photo in another one of my photos of the line of the newly built houses and then the hills in the background. The more obvious differences between my work and Tom Wood work are that he has kept his photos in black and white and that he has involved people in his landscapes more than i have due to my focus being on the impact of the man made buildings on the natural landscape.

These are two more photos taken from Tom Woods landscape photo project, you can see the "taken from a car window" effect clearer in the photo on the left with the rain droplets on the window. What i have liked about this project while looking at it is the similar aesthetic, similar to my own.








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page